Jane Harris-Zsovan’s Weblog

A Professional Site About Jane’s Books, Articles and Ideas

Alberta Literary Award Win:

leave a comment »

Jane Harris (Harris-Zsovan) has won a 2016 Alberta Literary Award. She received the James H. Gray Award for short non-fiction at the  Alberta Literary Awards Gala June 4th in Calgary, Alberta. Jane’s essay, “The Unheard Patient,” published in Alberta Views November 2015 issue was also short-listed for a 2016 Alberta Magazine Publishers Association Showcase Award (essay category.)

Jane is also the author of Finding Home in the Promised Land, a personal history of homelessness and social exile (J. Gordon Shillingford, 2015) and Eugenics and the Firewall (J. Gordon Shillingford, 2010).

The full news release:

2016 Alberta Literary Award Winners Announced

The Writers’ Guild of Alberta is pleased to reveal the winners of the 2016 Alberta Literary Awards. More than 120 attended the 2016 Alberta Literary Awards Wine and Cheese Gala, part of the Writers’ Guild of Alberta’s 2016 Calgary Conference, Creativity and Happiness.

This celebration marked the 34th anniversary of the Alberta Literary Awards and brought together writers from across Alberta.

The Alberta Literary Awards were created by the Writers’ Guild of Alberta in 1982 to recognize excellence in writing by Alberta authors. This year, jurors deliberated over 250 submissions to select 25 finalists in eight categories.

The Writers’ Guild of Alberta is the largest provincial writers’ organization in Canada, and was formed in 1980 to provide a meeting ground and collective voice for the writers of the province. Our mission is to inspire, connect, support, encourage, and promote writers and writing, to safeguard the freedom to write and to read, and to advocate for the well-being of writers.

Congratulations to all of this year’s winners!

2016 Alberta Literary Awards Winners

R. Ross Annett Award for Children’s Literature (Supported by the Under the Arch Youth Foundation at The Calgary Foundation)

  • Kate Boorman (Edmonton) – Winterkill, Abrams/Amulet

Georges Bugnet Award for Fiction (Sponsored by The Banff Centre)

  • Bradley Somer (Calgary) – Fishbowl, St. Martin’s/Raincoast 

Wilfrid Eggleston Award for Nonfiction (Supported by Jane Stevens and the WGA Board of Directors)

  • Andrew Nikiforuk (Calgary) – Slick Water: Fracking and One Insider’s Stand Against the World’s Most Powerful Industry, Greystone

Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama (Sponsored by Alberta Views)

  • Beth Graham (Edmonton) – The Gravitational Pull of Bernice Trimble, Playwrights Canada Press

Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Poetry (Sponsored by Stephan V. Benediktson)

  • Marylin Dumont (Edmonton) – The Pemmican Eaters, ECW Press

James H. Gray Award for Short Nonfiction (Supported by Tony Johnson)

  • Jane Harris (Lethbridge) – “The Unheard Patient,” Alberta Views

Howard O’Hagan Award for Short Story (Supported by Vanna Tessier and Guy Tessier)

  • Thomas Wharton (Edmonton) – “Filters,” FreeFall

Jon Whyte Memorial Essay Award (Supported by the Friends of Frances – In Memory of Frances Hern)

  • Elizabeth Withey (Edmonton) – “O Brother, Where Art Thou?”

WGA Golden Pen Award for Lifetime Achievement (Supported by Aritha van Herk)

  • Greg Hollingshead


Jane Harris, Author

Now for the Good News: I won the James H. Gray Award at the Alberta Literary Awards in Calgary on Saturday for “The Unheard Patient” published in Alberta Views, November 2015. Here’s the news release: https://lnkd.in/bNa2kz2

View original post


Written by janeharris(harris-zsovan)

June 6, 2016 at 8:16 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: